Aims and Origins

The Australian Population Association (APA) was formed in 1980 and is Australia’s leading professional association for demographers.

The main aims of the Association are:

  • To encourage the exchange of information between individuals and organisations in population and related fields
  • To provide a forum for the discussion of population issues
  • To promote population research and education particularly in Australia and the Asia-Pacific region

Download the APA Constitution in PDF format. 


APA Council 2023-2024

The business of the Australian Population Association is coordinated by the APA Council. Members of the Council hold office for two years, with elections held during an Annual General Meeting that is traditionally held as part of the biennial conference.

The current APA Council for the 2023-2024 term:

PresidentDr Kim Johnstone, MBANSW Government
Vice Presidents

Professor Udoy Saikia

Dr Kate Golebiowska

Flinders University, SA

Charles Darwin University, NT

SecretaryDr Melinda M. DoddFlinders University, SA
TreasurerMr Mitchell ValentineVictorian Government
Journal EditorAssociate Professor Santosh JatranaDeakin University / James Cook University
Council Members

Mrs Denise Carlton

Dr Mike Roettger

Mrs Sandi van Roo

Dr Salut Muhidin

Ms Rosabella Borsellino

Australian Bureau of Statistics, ACT

Australian National University (also Public Officer), ACT

Queensland Treasury

Macquarie University, NSW

University of Queensland

Demoz EditorTBC 









APA Council Nomination Form 2025-2026

Nominations for the 2025-2026 APA Council will open in November 2024. You may preview the form used in 2022.